Up a creek, didn’t paddle

June 4, 2017 at 10:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
025604_0716418a

Gets deeper

So I find myself staying in a hotel in Plymouth, a couple of miles away from all three of my old schools, only two of which I was expelled from.

It seemed rude not to try a run that went to them all, even though the rain was a bit biblical, and I’m not that familiar with the bit of town that linked them all up.

I gave the map a cursory look before leaving it behind, planning a big loop, that just needed me to turn left at the right moment, not right at the wrong moment.

A quick potter round school #1, and the ruin in the trees where the nuns turned a blind eye to us smoking,  then down through Tamerton to pick up the fields to Whitleigh.

Following my nose, and following the stream on my left, the road seemed a bit more isolated than I planned, but it was too good a road for it not to go somewhere worthwhile.  Having said that, I also thought about a theory I have on paths through bracken in the hills; the ones that end up going nowhere look the best trodden, because they’ve been trampled twice by people coming back when they found a dead end.

And the stream grew to a creek, and the creek to an estuary, and my hopes of a bridge gradually dissolved, and I kept on going on because that’s what we do.

And after half an hour when I got to the dead end that we all know now was lurking all along, I did a loop through the woods and looked at the sea, and faced the facts about going back the way I came, and I stumbled across a mountain biker. I asked him whether there was some other way of going somewhere, and he said yes, you can do a loop through the woods and look at the sea, and go back the way you came.

And having redefined the idea of going back they way I came, from being the worst-case scenario into being the way I wanted to go all along, I ran back drenchedly, turned the right way down the other side of the stream that would become the creek and sea, and gradually found streets and houses that looked a bit more like where I wanted to be.

I left schools #2 and #3 for another day or year though, and the old lady who I asked the best way back to Crownhill told me there was a bus stop up the road, and I ran back the way the school bus used to take me. And still it rained, but I’d been wet through for ages, and quietly tired and happy for even longer.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.